Glow plug system help 92 HZJ77 1HZ (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Upon inspection of my fuse panel I noticed there is no 7.5A fuse for "glow". In fact there are no contacts in the fuse panel where the supposed fuse is supposed to go.

The glow relay actuated when the ignition is 'on'. It looks like I'm getting 5V to the relay switch when I checked with a voltmeter.

Had my system/timer been bypassed? What else can I check to make sure this is running correctly, I.e. my glow plugs aren't saying on. I'm new to diesels so any help is appreciated.

Also attaching a picture of a wire that appears to be bypassed or repaired. Not sure if it's related. It's a green/white wire coming from the steering column.

43546F57-7733-4C86-A7D4-226B7FD0361E.jpeg

96381EEB-FC3C-471F-A701-B856DE53FBE3.jpeg

Step A. Who/why did someone tap into the main power (steering column) and where do the volts go? step2: does it start and run?

Step A. Who/why did someone tap into the main power (steering column) and where do the volts go? step2: does it start and run?
I need to look at the wiring diagram to figure what's going on with this wire splicing.

Engine fires right up. I put my voltmeter on the glow relay and it appears to be on a timer.

Had my system/timer been bypassed? What else can I check to make sure this is running correctly, I.e. my glow plugs aren't saying on. I'm new to diesels so any help is appreciated.

They should go through an initial high voltage glow and then a secondary glow at a lower voltage. How long depends on ambient temps and engine temps
Sometimes the timer craps out and they are replaced with after market types with a period adjustable glow. My glow timer died and an auto electrician gave me one that still worked on the secondary glow which was fine in my climate.