Expedition Laptop - Considering Panasonic ToughBook (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I was considering the ToughBook as a mounted item in truck. We're planning a 30k mile expedition over a variety of terrain but not into warzones or hostile territory. The laptop is for inside truck or indoor use only but will see fair amount of shock and some degree of dust.

Panasonic makes two lines of toughbook - a fully ruggedized version (ToughBook 18 & 29) and a "semi-ruggedized" line (ToughBook 51, W4, Y4, etc.).

Does anyone have any experience with either of these products? I'm kinda leaning towards the semi-rugged versions to save on cost.

Itronix as an option

Hmmm...

I used to have a Toughbook as a work computer. Durable in the full Rugged version. I have no experience with the "semi-rugged" version.

Why not consider something like an Itronix. Not the prettiest, but definitely rugged. Touchscreen can be useful in a vehicle. Can be found cheaply on Ebay and others.

What functions do you need from it?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Rugged-Itronix-GoBook-IX250-Touchscreen-CD-Wireless_W0QQitemZ160018025533QQihZ006QQcategoryZ177QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

uberhahn said:
Hmmm...

What functions do you need from it?

Must Have:
Run GPS route planning sw from Garmin
Run ECU monitoring sw from AutoEnginuity
Play MP3s

Nice to have:
Run photoshop
Play DVDs
Burn DVDs
Run Internet Browser

I did consider a used Itronix but discarded the idea since the rugged laptops may have seen rough use. I will have a Dell Inspiron as a backup to perform all the above tasks but as far as possible I do not want to have the laptop running while I am operating the vehicle.

The new Itronix are the same price as the ToughBooks. I was leaning towards the ToughBook since a coworker equipped his Everest Expedition with them and they performed well.

Quixote said: