Brayden's school Cruiser, now dads work and hunting rig.

  • Thread starter Dudleyfj40
  • Start date
  • Watchers 8
Dudleyfj40

Dudleyfj40

SILVER Star
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
1,583
Location
Atkins, Iowa
No more SRS airbag light.

IMG 20171220 223241613 LL
 
JaketheSSnake

JaketheSSnake

SILVER Star
Joined
Dec 25, 2015
Messages
940
Location
Iowa
Pull the bulb? Lol. It's surprising how quick you have to move when resetting it in order for it to take.
 
Dudleyfj40

Dudleyfj40

SILVER Star
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
1,583
Location
Atkins, Iowa
I bought another controller. After installing,
it went away with out resetting.
 
Dudleyfj40

Dudleyfj40

SILVER Star
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
1,583
Location
Atkins, Iowa
Thrust bearings bad? No just the harmonic balancer separating.
IMG 20180315 204524220


think I put too much torque on it when I did the oil pump seal last year. I had to rig this up to break the bolt loose!
IMG 20180315 203747791
 
Last edited:
JaketheSSnake

JaketheSSnake

SILVER Star
Joined
Dec 25, 2015
Messages
940
Location
Iowa
It works now! You had to use a winch to break it free? That looks sketchy, but I like it lol
 
LS1FJ40

LS1FJ40

SILVER Star
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
9,196
Location
Cedar Rapids, IA
Yep! Works now. I need to borrow that brace. See if we can get the harmonic balancer off my spare...
 
Dudleyfj40

Dudleyfj40

SILVER Star
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
1,583
Location
Atkins, Iowa
It works now! You had to use a winch to break it free? That looks sketchy, but I like it lol
I worked well once I got it rigged up. The messed up part was I had to reset it and pull it together twice. Couldn't break it loose with the frame/starter way.
 
REKCUT

REKCUT

SILVER Star
Joined
Jan 5, 2005
Messages
4,974
Location
Rogersville, Mo.
Ive never had an issue with using the frame and starter. Have you got a torque wrench that goes to 304lbs
 
Dudleyfj40

Dudleyfj40

SILVER Star
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
1,583
Location
Atkins, Iowa
My battery was dead, not real sure if a fully charged battery would break it loose.

No torque wrench that big yet, I am weaker than last year thou. Should be spot on this time. :rofl:
 
REKCUT

REKCUT

SILVER Star
Joined
Jan 5, 2005
Messages
4,974
Location
Rogersville, Mo.
You need not that big to put it back on. very important. I put mine on without and got what i thought was tight. Then used the Toque wrench and realized i was light.
 
JaketheSSnake

JaketheSSnake

SILVER Star
Joined
Dec 25, 2015
Messages
940
Location
Iowa
I torqued mine by clock position. I think I used either a 200 or 250lb wrench and marked it at 100,150,200,250 and put it approximately where 300 would be plus a little extra for good luck lol. It's held for over 10k miles so far. Ymmv!
 
REKCUT

REKCUT

SILVER Star
Joined
Jan 5, 2005
Messages
4,974
Location
Rogersville, Mo.
If the torque is less than the spec then AFAIK you will eventually develop some issues that would be long term effects and result into a dead engine. As you may already know that your PS and oil pump are driven off of the crank (gear driven) and the pressure comes from the torque on the pulley created by the bolt. So if there is inadequate pressure than the gears will slip causing oil pressure drop and other domino effects. Bottom line is: it's good to know that at least 304 ft LB is achieved.

Not really about holding together
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom