Baofeng BF-F8HP question (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
First let me say i am a complete ham novice. I have a Baofeng BF-F8HP and a truck mounted Yaesu.

Today i was in yellowstone monetering the park traffic On the Yaesu which worked like a charm. I had the Baofeng set to the "wolf watcher" channel becouse it was a 70cm channel and the Yaesu would not do it. I never got anything from the Baofeng. Maybe there just wasnt any traffic on that chanel. So on the way out i set the Baofeng to the same park channel as the yaesu. When i would here traffic from the park service loud and clear over the Yaesu i would get nothing out of the speeker of the Baofang. The strange thing is the Baofeng would light up and indicate full 4 bars of signal reception. But no sound from the speaker. Thus was even in town when i know i am right next to the repeaters.

I know the speaker is basicly working. When adjusting the radio channels. It talks to you just fine. It just dose not have "volume" when receiving a signal. Any ideas ob what to check or how to test it?

What antennas do you have on the Baofeng? What Yaesu do you have? Baofengs work great with good antennas, but Yaesu is a superior brand for sure.

Squelch setting ??

cheers,
george.

The difference between receiving and transmitting when it comes to power is that, your low power radio can "hear" what the other radios are transmitting from afar, but cannot transmit itself the signal to be able to be heard by those radios at a far away distance.
The max power and the type of antenna on your setup are mostly for transmitting purposes, not receiving.

The incoming radio waves, if powerful enough, should be able to reach you independently of your radio power and type of antenna, given the radio reaching sensitivity is a good one.