ALIGNMENT? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Do I need to have an alignment done on my rig now that the new suspension is on or do I simply just need to re-center my steering wheel?

I've been advised both ways and am looking for concensus here. Can't imagine that I would have changed the caster/camber/toe-in & out simply by changing out the springs/shocks and lifting the rig 3" but hey, I'm still learning here.

Thanks,

-dogboy- '87 FJ60

If you drive it on the street for any length of time, get the alignment done. You will save your tires.

If you primarily run on the trail. Just do it yourself.

Either way, don't just center the steering wheel.

If you didn't touch the tie-rod adjustment and it was correct before it is correct now so toe-in won't change. Lift can alter steering angles depending on type of lift. Did you only use springs?

Depending on your setup, just adjust the relay rod to recenter the wheel.

If you have added bigger tires, increasing toe-in a hair will help.

There is no real alignement needed on a Cruiser - I have never had a shop touch the 'alignment' on any of the Cruisers I have owned (40's, 60 or 80) you can only adjust Toe In. You can do this at home using one of many techniques.

Jim

Hammerhead,

She's got a new, full OME suspension, complete with shocks, steering dampener, greasable shackles and pins. Lifted the front almost 3" and the back 4". I'm hoping and have been told by ARB that the rears will "settle" about an inch which should level her out again. It's pretty bouncy right now though.....

-dogboy- '87 FJ60

From what I've heard, OME's are really bouncy, for awhile. Might want to get some weight in the back otherwise those springs'll never settle cause there ain't no weight back there.