Adjustable rear control arms and pinion/driveshaft angle (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Y’all,

Tried installing a set of Dobinson’s adjustable rear lower and upper control arms today, and realized I’m a little out of my depth. Got a few questions about the adjustable arms before I proceed.

My understanding of the purpose of adjustable rear arms is to help correct the pinion and driveshaft angle after a lift. However, the handful of videos I’ve found on how to install these on a GX have you measure the adjustable arms to match the OEM ones.

Now, I’m a total novice, but this seems…like a waste. Why buy and install adjustable arms if you aren’t adjusting them?

I don’t have any noticeable vibration while driving, and have pretty minimal lift (icon stage 2, stock weight springs). My OEM rear control arms definitely need to be replaced. The rubber is dried and cracked to hell.

1) can I just match oem length and install the Dobinson’s I bought, or should I go through the process of measuring my pinion angle and figure out what adjustments I need to make to control arms?
2) any guides you’d recommend for mathing out the adjustments? I’d like to avoid a process of adjusting 1/4” at a time, putting the arms back on, lowering the truck, measure angles, etc. figure there’s got to be a smarter way than simply guess and check.

The rear lower control arms also have an offset. I think the offset helps articulate better and also clears hitting something under there.

And the tubing is way beefier than oem. So, it’s not just the adjustability that provides benefits of an aftermarket rear lower control arm.

In fact, I’m considering getting beefy heavy duty, offset, fixed length rear lower control arms from Apache Offroad.