Working with what I have, planning for the future (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey 12V gurus! Need some input and advice from y’all. I’m very new to automotive wiring so apologies for any poor explanations.

Here’s what I have, installed by PO in a 2003 100 series:
1. 100Ah deep cycle Group 31 AGM Dual Purpose battery by X2Power (this one). This is one and only battery.
2. What appears to be 10 gauge (though I don’t have a device to measure) wire off a Slee battery terminal wired to a accessory fuse block via the passenger gutter. It has a 15 amp inline fuse right at the battery. Ground wire runs back along the same pathway.
3. In the rear quarter panel the wire goes through a Blue sea on/off switch then into a 4 fuse block which then sends power to a volt meter, a USB port, and an Anderson PowerPole. The wiring of the switch panel is higher gauge (10 or 12 is my best guess), but the PowerPole itself is smaller gauge albeit a very short run from the fuse block.
1628394049709.jpeg

4. Edgestar FP630 running off the PowerPole fixture. The manual for the fridge states it pulls 65W.

The problem I am currently having started during a cross country road trip through the south (hot) where we’d wake up to the fridge temp in the 40s and the compressor shut off even though the truck ran all day and battery reads 12.4-12.6V depending on how long it has been sitting. (Just learned about AGM batteries not fully charging by an alternator so “smart” battery charger will be arriving soon). With the key off as soon as the fridge compressor kicks on the voltage at the battery drops ~0.2-0.3V (~12.3V), but there is a drop of 0.8-1V from that reading to the voltage at the panel making it register 11.2-11.5V. Measuring the voltage at the back of the power cable as it plugs into the fridge can read as low as 10.4V causing it to shut itself off to save the battery.