Welding Bumpers, Winch Mounts... Minimum requirements? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
miscdotgeek.com
Hey everyone,

I am a beginner fabricator. I have built projects like a recumbent trike for myself, but haven't really applied my welding... uh... "skills" to my truck (88 Burb) yet. I'd like to be able to do things like bumpers and winch mounts. Probably from flat pack kits at first. But, I'd like to be able to weld them myself.

I have a cheap inverter arc welder from Amazon but it says it'll do 1/4" steel. Its rated up to 160A. It works fairly well for what it is. But power is the problem. I don't expect it to do that with 120V. I do have a 240V outlet for my dryer, and it's 30 amp (numa 14-30). Could I reasonably expect to weld this kind of stuff with decent penetration? I don't mind doing multiple passes. I know I could tack it up at home and then having somebody else do the big stuff welding. But, I'd prefer to do it myself.

And no, I can't add a 50A outlet. It's a rental.

Thoughts? Thanks tons.

Here is a thread in the 60s forum for a front bumper I made with a 110V mig welder. This post I'm linking to is by a fabricator explaining how 110V welder could be OK for something like this. I made the bumper 15 years ago and so far it has not fallen apart, but I haven't been in any accident either. And a bumper is maybe a different animal than a tow hitch which if it fails could create a bit of mayhem...

I'm not an expert at all so I can't comment how your stick welder may have different performance than my MIG.

Thanks 2mbb. I really liked your method of bolting the shackle mounts direct to the frame, rather than relying on the welds. Then the bumper does bumpery things and the shackle mounts can send the load right to the frame. Great idea man. That might account for a lot of it right there tbh. Thanks again!