Welders (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So the body shop kept screwing around and putting my tub on the back burner. I just got it back to the house today and am going to try and do the rust repair myself. I need a welder and was looking at just getting a flux welder or a mig welder and wondered if anyone used the flux welders from harbor freight? I do not think I will ever get into any heavy bumper builds or anything, just need something to fix body panel thickness material. What are the thoughts around here? I am not opposed to buying a used one for anyone around Winston-Salem wanting to upgrade theirs or even "renting" from someone.

Thanks
Spence

I'm only a self-taught welder, I'll say that doing sheet metal with a flux-core welder would be very challenging for me to do well. There will be a lot of splatter and clean up to do with the flux-core wire.

I'd suggest getting at least a 120v MIG, look around CL for a used one, they pop up regularly...

I second Jerry's comment. You do not want to weld sheet metal with flux core MIG. That type of MIG is more akin to stick welding than MIG welding.

Flux core, as the name suggests, uses a flux core in the MIG wire which eliminates the need for a shielding gas. This is great when you are welding outside in windy situations where a shielding gas would blow away leaving lots of porosity in your welds. This also makes the entry fee a lot cheaper since you don't have to buy a gas bottle. The downside, as Jerry said, is a layer of slag over the weld (like stick) that has to be removed before further welding, paint, etc. It is real hard to get a flux core weld to look as good as a shielded gas weld especially for a beginner.