Tray Mountain North Ga (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
It's sad that this has to be my first post but here it goes. I'm totally new to this sport and this was my first time out.

My wife and I entered the trail head and saw a sign "closed road", that's it, nothing else. I was thinking that they didn't want cars driving up there because the road was bad. I figured Ibwas good in a 4x4. We got about 1/10th of a mile in and decided to have lunch. somebody left a dwindling fire by the creek and we decided to have lunch there.

When we were finished we packed up and were going to head out and a forest ranger Chambers pulls up and wanted to know why I went passed the "road closed" sign and why I started a fire. I said sorry, we'll head back to Chimney Mtn Road and I didn't start the fire, it was already there when we arrived. He said nope, you aren't leaving, let me see your DL and said we was giving warnings for the past 2 weeks but he had it!! He was giving me a citation for being on a closed road. WTF??? This is the first time I had ever been off road because I just bought the used GX470 and it was my first time out. I told him, look at the temporary tag on my truck, I had no idea this was a major violation? This ranger Chambers didn't care, he said he was tired of Off Roaders and wasn't putting up with this anymore and started talking about silt and the environment and asked me i fished? He said that I wouldn't be a le to fish if this silt keeps running into the Chattahoochee and off roaders are causing this mess.