Proper 3F-E break-in procedures (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Yes yes, I know....I'm an amateur!!! I've searched, but I can't find this either. Can someone please list step by step the break-in procedure for my freshly rebuilt 3F-E...or give a link that will guide me through this? Thank you greatly in advance!

I know to start it, run around 2000RPM for 20-30 minutes, let idle while setting timing, then drive it for roughly 30 minutes, change to high quality oil....and be in my way. Any other suggestions?

new or used cam? new or used pistons?

Start engine. Check oil pressure. Check for funny noises. Check for fluid leaks. Warm up a bit, then go drive it like you stole it.

Just go for a drive ha, nothing really infact the 3fe will still be breaking in for another 100k lmao

ForumRunner_20130122_185209.jpg

Sent from my hawn finga using IH8MUD
ForumRunner_20130122_185209.jpg

Honestly I think the break in period is a myth, sure don't be redlining the thing but the rings will seat quite quickly.

That came straight from

ForumRunner_20130122_192524.jpg

Sent from my hawn finga using IH8MUD
ForumRunner_20130122_192524.jpg

Very important step is to pre-prime the oil pump. Whoever assembled your motor used assembly lube, but that will quickly breakdown once the motor is at running rpm. Remove distributor and all spark plugs. Attach an old distributor shaft with the housing (the cam gear must be removed) or a store bought primer to an electric drill and spin in a clockwise direction for a few minutes. Check oil pressure gauge to be sure all is working good. Turn engine over a 1/4 of a turn, and spin oil pump again for a minute or two. Continue this until the engine has gone 2 full revolutions then, reinstall the distributor and set the #1 at TDC. It's also a good idea to remove the valve cover to ensure that oil is circulating thru the valve train.