Painting truck at home in Garage? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi guys

Pretty much since I got my truck there were a few rough spots on the body that I wanted to fix up, as 8 years went by, I touched up the bad spots with various products (mostly from rattle cans) and kept the truck well coated with oil, which did a great job slowing rust. Now, I will have some time this summer, and the truck deserves a fresh body job and paint! I have a few questions, I am new to painting, I actually have never held a paint gun, yet. All of my knowledge has either been from online via research, and/or information from a few guys that have been painting for decades...

I plan to get the truck blasted, have a local guy come and do a wet dustless blasting right at my house.

I had an online cart full of everything I needed from Eastwood, around 2000$ worth. A nice filter setup for ait, HPLV guns, sander, 2 part paint, 2 part clear coat, epoxy primer, fillers and a various other supplies. Before putting my money on the line, I decided I needed to better understand what I was doing. I quickly found out that I would absolutely need an air fed mask, and even then urethane paint systems are very toxic. My garage is attached to the house. Frankly I don't want anyone's health compromised. After a ton of reading, I was left thinking maybe I can do everything, but spray the truck. get it totally ready, flat bed it to a shop and have them spray it...