Events/Trails Charouleau Gap 6/2/20 to test my new Yokohama’s! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I just put some new rubber on my 80 and looking to break it in a little bit. I was thinking about running Charouleau Gap from Catalina to Oracle because I’ve never done it before. Tuesday is my day off so that is when it might happen.

Open invite to anyone looking to rock it through this trail. I am not looking to go too slow. Rock it = rocket. 80 with 3”lift and 35’s. Planning on a “3 hour tour”. But I really don’t know how long it will take. I’ve heard 5-6 hours. Probably planning on leaving trailhead around 8 or 9.

I just got the Yokohama M/T’s and want to get them dirty. My old Mickey Thompsons were about 13 years old so I’m expecting a nice boost in performance!

I did it in the fall with 3" lift and 33's. That was all I really ever want to get my rig into. Killer trail, but I am gunna think twice about running it again. Best wishes there, post up some pics on the big gap feature and of the big ledge feature by the creek. Have fun.

I did it a month ago in my 80. 33s. No lockers. It’s 6 hours or so if you have no issues. The car wash scraped up my axle housings a bit.
35s would be better.

So I got stuck, but only because Toad would die every time I put it in reverse!
2ADABE85-B806-4C39-8FB5-6E01972A283B.jpeg

I stacked a rock and was able to drive out forward. But then Toad started dying in drive as well!
2E5B6533-9834-453C-85EC-0613641F9EB2.jpeg

Anybody have one of these. I’m guessing reverse was separating it faster. Then when I got unstuck it was too much of a gap even in drive.
43611035-63FF-489C-B260-B8FA117DC803.jpeg

Good thing I had duct tape! Is it also a heat shield now?!
340FEB54-4B53-4D1D-A02D-CCE3A8669BBC.png

made it out to Oracle!