Beginner gear necessities advice (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
970A1B95-8048-4256-AC3C-A8FBADE5EA61.jpeg

If you guys/ gals would be so kind as to recommend me some beginner necessities when going off-road. I’m completely new to the world of off-roading and would like to be prepared for small adventures. Mainly day trips for now and mostly easy trails with the family. I’ve seen a couple of YouTube videos, but they can be a bit over the top (Jeep guys lol).

Just get some basic stuff. A tow strap, high lift Jack, shovel and a few D ring shackles etc …. Mainly stuff to pull you out if you were to get stuck or help another person. The pic you posted is at a beach, maybe some Air down/up things too…

sliders eventually too… Good Luck and get out there. 👍🏻

Just get some basic stuff. A tow strap, high lift Jack, shovel and a few D ring shackles etc …. Mainly stuff to pull you out if you were to get stuck or help another person. The pic you posted is at a beach, maybe some Air down/up things too…

sliders eventually too… Good Luck and get out there. 👍🏻

Pismo Beach out here in CA. I mostly stayed on the hard packed sand and didn’t air down. Probably a better idea to do it.

Find someone else to go with or tag along on a group run. After a while you'll find out what you need just by watching everyone else. Some stuff will be specific for the type of terrain you go on, whether it's rocks, snow, sand, etc,. Other items will depend on the type of trips you do, like day trips, multi-day or weeklong. But there are some items that are pretty universal

Some of the basic off-road (or even on-road) items would be

Air compressor - most come with a pressure gauge, but if not carry one. A cheap one will work, but if you plan on doing this long term a good compressor is worth the investment