ATV snow plow winch pulley (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I’ve been using my CanAm with plow for ten years. There have been a few issues. First is the either contactor or switch overheating intermittently and I’m just wondering whether the pulley position is really relevant or not.
So I’m going to post 5 pics of down and up positions. The 5th pic is just me wondering if this location
would work better, but I think not.
I currently run synthetic, and I’ve pulled all the line out so I’m only using enough with 5 wraps
around the drum to maximize pull and minimize load since I’m pulling max against what is a fairly ‘light’ load.
I just read I should use a 2” pulley as it is the optimum size for this diameter rope so I’ve got a snatch block
I plan to sacrifice and adapt. Anyhow, here are the pics and tell me if you think I’ve got it right or wrong.
I’m using a snatch as I also figured it would reduce the load on the winch again by half.
Maybe I’m over thinking it.
08F9A63A-DF2B-4026-8991-8F1E57AC6C24.jpeg
68538664-0A10-4113-95B1-1D260AF356B1.jpeg
5E09896F-753C-4F1C-80A9-EC6299E3CA60.jpeg
D980CCF8-5E72-484A-BF46-F551EDD6CEFA.jpeg

This last pic it’s not hooked up. Just wondering if even more vertical pull would work better or not. I should have said I also have a special
oversized lower roller specifically for winching a plow.
5FDAB9D8-ACF6-4441-8A52-1671768F0636.jpeg

That looks decent to me, but I really don't have much experience with that sort of thing. It sounds to me like your problems are more on the electrical side. If you can take your contactor apart and inspect the contacts, that might be a good first step - especially with it getting warm. Running a second battery in parallel might be a good idea too. More juice keeps the winch happy.

After discussions it would seem that a vertical pull is better. The further forward the pulley is,