Advice on 2000 LX470 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi.

I am new to the world of Land Crusiers, but I really like what I’ve seen this community do to their rigs.

I have found one for sale and I am hoping to get this community’s input. I have attached images below. I am going to go look at it soon for myself and I will have a mechanic give his opinion.

I’m drawn to the Land Cruiser because I cannot stomach the price of new vehicles today. From what I've read, they have a great reputation for reliability. I figure I can do a lot of repairs to this car for what I’d pay to get something new.

I’m planning on mostly using this as a hunting rig and cruising some forest roads.

My main concern is ensuring I get a vehicle that I’m not worried about leaving me stranded. I want to feel confident that I can get behind the wheel and drive across the country at a moments notice. How can I ensure this when looking at used cruisers? It feels like a bit of an oxymoron buying an almost 25 year old vehicle for reliability and that's my biggest fear, that I end up with a lemon and need to buy a newer vehicle anyways.

Thanks in advance and I hope threads like this are okay.

lx2.jpeg
lx1.jpeg
lx3.jpeg
lx4.jpeg
lx5.jpeg

A few more details:

The seller is asking $14k and it has a clean title. He mentioned one low speed accident where a neighbor backed into the car, but it has been repaired.

Here is the describption given by the seller: