'95 Taco wheel bearing questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Guys,

I know my way around FJ40s but I'm still learning about my Taco. It's a '95 4WD 3.4L V-6. I just put on a new set of tires and had the front end aligned and the shop that did the alignment told me the right front wheel bearing was roaring and needed to be replaced. They couldn't do the job for a week or so and my workspace is snow covered so took it to a nearby shop. They told me the bearing was noisy but no play and that it was a sealed bearing pressed into the steering knuckle and they would have to remove the knuckle and send it to their machine shop to have it pressed out which couldn't be done until next week. They quoted me $214.60 parts (bearing and I assume snap rings, oil seals, etc) and $267 labor (3 hours at $89/) for a total with tax of about $540 but they said they wouldn't charge me all the tax and bottom line would be around $450.

At that price I might wait until spring and do it myself but I'm confused about a couple of things:
1) does my '95 have a sealed bearing or a more conventional type that I could repack? According to my Haynes, the '96 4WD has the sealed bearing. The shop gave me a copy of a parts diagram from ALLDATA for a 5VZ-FE 4WD that shows a sealed bearing. I saw a Koyo on on the web for a '95 for about $55, does that seem reasonable?
2) does the knuckle really have to come off to replace the bearing? Is a machine shop necessary or can I press out the old bearing/outer race with the knuckle off using my vise?
3) how or where can I find the manufacture date on the Taco? I know where to find it on my FJ40 and I know a lot of mid-year changes were made on 40s but don't know if that's true for Tacos. I understand that '95 was a transition year for Tacos.

Thanks guys and sorry for the long post.
Pete