1982 Fj40 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

POS VETT

Courier Extraordinaire
Threads
1982 FJ-40 - Pics Too

So, JimC's comment about my Land Cruiser has piqued my interest about bringing it into US. I talked to my Dad and he said it costs about $2k to bring it over, FOB California (I think he said Huntington Beach). That's the shipping cost alone.

I posted here to find out more about making the LC road legal. I also found these two NHTSA publications/issues regarding the conversion. Docket numbers 4072 and 3715 show some of the necessary steps (I think), I'm not too clear.

So, if anyone can tell me pointers, maybe what happened once it reaches CA or even help with conversion, I really appreciate it. Can the LC be driven out of the port right away or do I need the conversion even before I can take it home ? Questions like that are what I have now.

In any rate, hi all, I'm a newbie. LOL.

Last edited:
Hey Tom--

If you go to the "international" cruisers section above, there are lots o links about importing cruisers into the States.

You can also contact some of the Canadian vendors as they do import Japanese vehicles into Canada, as well as vehicles from other countries.

Get to work so we can see this beaut.!

Best regards.
-onur
Akron, OH

I think the truck need to be 25 years old to be able to be brought to US. Which wold take 2-3 more years depend on when the truck was build. But any paperwork from Indonesia could be bought :rolleyes:
That would be cool to bring it to US though.

Augie said:
I think the truck need to be 25 years old to be able to be brought to US. Which wold take 2-3 more years depend on when the truck was build. But any paperwork from Indonesia could be bought :rolleyes:
That would be cool to bring it to US though.