really bad gas mileage (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello all,

I am new to both this site and the world of Land Cruisers. I have wanted one forever and just recently found the FJ-40 of my dreams.

I have a bone stock 1977 40 and I have a question for all of you about fuel economy. Now, i know that this is a 30 year old, carbureted engine pulling a 5000 lb vehilce but 7 miles per gallon seems low to me.

What kind of mileage are you guys getting and can you think of anything that could be causing mine to be so low?

Thanks in advance.

db

First off, you might need a carb rebuild, also a tune up is probably not a bad idea. Just don't expect to get much better than 11 mpgs depending on mods.

Yep, that's about what I get. 8 most of the time, but I am running 37" MTRs with a SM420, so that may be the reason.

I know I didnt get that bad when I drove mine in the street. Check for stuff like oil, filter. gas filter and blah.

get the carb rebuilt and the dizzy rebuilt; JC did our fj60's and we went from 9 MPG to 16-17:bounce:

Lou

The dizzy???? Sorry, newb confusion!! Distributor??

yea...im a bit lower then mrmouse but i think i was getting in the ball park of 15 or 16 before i left...i had swaped over to a pentronix kit instead of the points ignition and also had a buddy tune up my carb for me...

As Crazylandcruiser said, switch over to electronic ignition and also set your timing. My mpg went from about 8 to 12 when I switched to electronic dizzy.
FYI, a bone stock 40 weighs around 3200lbs depending on your mods. :cheers:

remember if you are running larger tires you have to take into account the odometer being off...my 33" tire are off by 1 mile per 10...this will give you almost an extra mpg to your # soooo you are getting 8 mpg....wait ....that still sucks....wait... i get that also:frown:...how many miles on the rig?