Shock advice for 100 lift (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys,

I've owned my 1998 100 (171,000 miles) for about 6 years now but, due to never having that thing called money while in college, I wasn’t able to build up my Land Cruiser. Getting a job after I graduated remedied that problem so now I can finally stop drooling over pictures of your rigs and make one of my own. I have started making my purchases for my build in early May (first available time I have, gotta love tax season) but have run into a problem involving what shock to purchase.

I have my OPOR sliders, and plan on getting 865s, diff drop, and front arb locker (to eliminate the exploding/disintegrating 2 pinion front diff and the string of obscenities that will follow) installed before the end of May. Ill crank my OEM t bars until I get a front bumper and then Ill switch to OME t bars. Ill be doing moderate trails to start but, as a add armor and other items, Ill look to do more difficult trails. It is also my DD.

I’ve used to search function extensively during the last 2 months and change (you guys have been extremely helpful) and even PM'ed a few members asking questions about their setups. From what I've gathered so far I have 4 options of shocks to choose from: Bilsteins, OME Nitros (N100/N101), OME Nitro Sports (60000/60002), and Ironmans (Kings, radflos, foxes are out of my price range and slightly overkill for what I intend to do with my hundy, although Id love to use these)

1. Bilsteins: Best onroad and washboard quality but will lose articulation due to their shorter side and possibly top out as well.

2. OME Nitros (N100/N101): Good extension and compression, slightly firmer than OEM shocks, but still has dive when braking and arent as good on washboards.