Trying to figure out if 4runner wheels will fir on FJ80 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi Everyone, I'm new to the form and it's my first post. Im trying to figure out if the new 2016-2017 4Runner wheels will fit on my 1995 FJ80. Any information will be helpful. THanks in advance!

Hi Everyone, I'm new to the form and it's my first post. Im trying to figure out if the new 2016-2017 4Runner wheels will fit on my 1995 FJ80. Any information will be helpful. THanks in advance!

Yes, they will. You can run them without center caps if you don't have spacers. I did this for a week or so until I had time to install the spacers. If you do run spacers you can run the center caps. I'm assuming that your '95 has the same shank style lugs mine does, and you'll need to run those on the newer 4-runner wheels unless they've changed them to acorns, but I don't believe that to be the case.

View media item 55056View media item 55057

Welcome! And keep in mind that only 1991-1992 had FJ80's. 1993-1997 had FZJ80's. Among other differences, and related to your question, FJ80's had 15" rims. FZJ's had 16" rims and larger brakes.

IMG_1134.JPG
285 70, no spacer. little modification to center caps to fit. Sorry about the half ass pic. Only thing I had on my phone.

Also note that 4runner/Tundra/Sequoia/FJC wheels are available in 7" and 7.5" wide versions. The FZJ80 wheels are 8" wide. Personally I would only consider the 7.5" options. But it comes down to the tire size you plan to run.

This is a good point, especially if you plan on buying tires at any major chain. Most tire manufacturers specify a range of, or at least minimum rim widths for a given tire size, and it's been my experience that the chains don't usually like to stray from those specifications.

I know (thanks to the casting marks) the wheels I got are of the 7.5" variety.