Pellet grills (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm looking to upgrade my BBQ gear from a webber gas grill and a electric smoker to somthing else.

I'm looking at a camp chef woodwind 36" pellet grill with the sear box attachment.

I'm new to pellet grills and wondered what people think of them.

Also what brand of pellet is preferred.

I have the Yoder YS640 and it's a damn fine smoker. I've never grilled with it but you can. They sell a searing grate that will sit over on the left, right above the fire box. They are spendy but you get what you pay for. Looks like they've upgraded this thing quite a bit with wi-fi and temp probes built in. I've had mine for about 8 years and I'll never go back to a stick burning smoker. The pellet smokers are just too easy and consistent. Also, weight is your friend. The heavier and thicker the metal the better. My smoker weighs near 350 pounds. And 100% made in Kansas.

I have a PitBoss smoker and have had it for close to 5 years now and smoked close to 1,000 pounds of meat for ourselves, parties and even small catering events. It has been great. Typically smoke with hickory and oak, both of witch I buy as pellet smoker fuel, as well as the fuel that we use in our pellet stove - have to be careful and only use virgin non-finished wood to make the pellets, which ours come from a furniture factory in Virginia using only pre-finished scrap for their pellets.

I have the ability to grill with mine, but the second time I tried to do it, I nearly burned it to the ground. If you smoke a lot of brisket and pork shoulders, you get a build up of grease, which is fine at 225-300, but once you crank it up to 400-500 to grill, the grease will ignite.