My progression over the coming years with an interesting forty (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Pura Vida

What an absolute noob
Threads
I’m going to be posting to this thread with my progression of my truck. This truck is my first car that I bought when I was 15.It is a 1979 (sike, turns out it’s a 77) BJ40 diesel. I bought it from a guy in Costa Rica who restored a ton of stuff back to factory spec. I got a killer deal on it for only about 8 grand. The guy had the nickname “Naranjita” which means “Little orange” in Spanish. Fitting name because the freeborn red paint has faded to an orange color, so it stuck. The truck has a lot of cool history to it, because it was a part of a Guinness world record for largest logo. The logo was made by over 1600 Toyota’s located in Costa Rica, and each Toyota that participated got a window sticker that indicated it was a part of the world record. I think that is super cool. It has some rust on it, but it shouldn’t be anything that would cause me trouble. I am planning to do a multitude of things including a lift, roof rack and a custom bumper. I’ll include some pictures of my cars, and feel free to reach out and ask questions or make recommendations on my build.

AC51CC73-DD28-4D5C-8FBB-3AC67297FBCE.jpeg

E1B9DCE3-4049-434B-8D52-3A6805C8083B.jpeg

11127519-C36B-4867-AAB6-BE75DA02B895.jpeg

B109C06B-2946-45C8-A0FA-7C6B09A26698.jpeg

Last edited:
The first major thing I did to it was an engine overhaul. My head cracked, and my cylinders expanded. I had my B engine rebuilt, and it is currently getting installed this weekend. I think it is a really good start, as I probably don’t have to worry about the engine for a while.

1C6C9B8E-D071-4D38-A5B2-D61E990D14EE.jpeg