Flaming 40 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Pura Vida

What an absolute noob
Threads
Well well well. I got my truck home from car jail, and I have some work to do before I can get it running. All the parts are supposedly there, and the engine was just rebuilt, but I just need to put it all together and see if anything is bad or locked up or anything

Trouble is, I’m not a mechanic. I’m gonna need a lot of help putting everything back together. Any help is appreciated

On the way back from the mechanic (don’t ask, bad idea having it there, super long saga) (literally 15 mins ago) my brakes caught fire on the tow truck on the way home. Somehow a ton of oil went everywhere even through the mechanic alleged the car had no oil in it. I’m attaching pictures of the brake in question, the parts and the engine bay.

DE29C8B5-7F87-48F8-BE93-071031E25B8E.jpeg

87558766-CCA5-455A-A7F2-722AAE20D9A2.jpeg

C04A7C7A-7934-45FA-AD30-DCADE2114731.jpeg

Any help on where to start would be great.

Your brakes caught fire while ON the tow truck?
Yes. It wasn’t a flatbed. The back was on the dolly thing and the front wheels were rolling. It was out of gear in 2HI (we checked) but they caught fire. Weird. Driver thought the brakes were locked up or something

Ah, yes. Brake shoes (those are drum brakes?) not releasing all the way, overheated. Any front brake work done recently? Brake master cylinder swap? Could be a couple things causing that...

Ah, yes. Brake shoes (those are drum brakes?) not releasing all the way, overheated. Any front brake work done recently? Brake master cylinder swap? Could be a couple things causing that...
No, it has been sitting for a long time, and PO didnt say when he last did brakes. They are front discs though

Does the hub spin smoothly? Does the hub/knuckle bearings feel loose? It looks like GL4/5 was the fuel, not so much hydraulic fluid?