Just bought an FZJ80 and oil change is coming up...thoughts? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey folks! So I'm definitely not new to the world of cruisers but it's my first time posting in the 80 subforum. I've had a 40 for 23 years and a 62 for about 4 years. This one's special, though. 97 40th 3x locked. 231k miles. Head gasket was never replaced but also shows no signs of needing to be. I've been monitoring things closely with a scanguage and it throws no codes. It's currently running Royal Purple Synthetic 5w-30.

My current plan is to run a can of Seafoam in my gas with about 3/4 tank and put a can in the existing oil for a few hundred miles before changing it out. I'm thinking Rotella T4 15-40 and Toyota oil filters which are already in the mail (P/N 15601-44011). I had luck doing this in my FJ62 after I got it all back together. It eliminated a stumble and the overall throttle response was much smoother and has been for 18k+ miles. I do the same thing every other oil change now.

So I'm thinking this might be a good option for the 80. It has a slight stumble at idle which I'm hoping this will eliminate. The previous owner didn't do any major engine work. Mainly the necessities that everyone should do after 26 years and 230k miles. Maintenance records are somewhat sparse otherwise. Not terribly sparse but there are gaps. Just wondering if the combination of Seafoam in gas and oil (before change), then Toyota filter, and then Rotella T4 is a good combo. Is it ok to go back to conventional after having synthetic in there? Years ago I heard against that but things change. I live in the Bay Area so the weather is moderate all the time. I will be taking it to Tahoe a ton, though. I used to live in Truckee and this combo worked very well up there including winter in the FJ62.