Introduction/Blown Head Gasket LX450 Recommendations (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

EPIC Cruisers

Supporting Vendor
Threads
Website
www.epiccruisers.com
Hello everyone,

I think I should start by introducing myself and my rig. I purchased my 1997 LX 450 (triple locked w/160K) a few months ago with plans to turn it into an overlanding/camping rig. I'm new to the Land Cruiser world but I'm a huge car guy. Besides the LX I have 2 BMWs, a 1983 528e and a 2007 335xi, along with a Yamaha R3. The old BMW is my baby and the car that taught me how to work on cars. I've restored it mechanically and it was my daily driver up until I bought the LX. I'm an Industrial Designer by schooling but an Engineer by profession so needless to say I enjoy taking things apart and fixing them. Once I get the LX up to par I will definitely attend one of the club meetings and meet everyone personally.

Now to the fun part...When I got the LX I did a lot of maintenance such as change leaking gaskets, flush coolant, rebuild the front axle, etc. After daily driving the LX for about 3000 miles the head gasket blew. I was only 2 miles from my house so I'm glad it happened now and not during a trip. I will be replacing the head gasket myself and am starting to gather parts and information. This leads to my following questions,

Can anyone recommend a machine shop in the Upstate to have my head checked and a valve job done? Also can anyone recommend someone to clean and flow match my injectors?

Thanks in advance, and glad to be part of the club!