Builds NButler's 1997 FzJ80 Build Thread (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.restorationmotorsport.com
Hey guys,

I wanted to make an introduction and build thread for my new Landcruiser.

My name is Nick, I'm a long time BMW enthusiast. I've been driving them religiously for the last 10+ years and I think they are amazing cars. I've had a bunch of different models over the years but currently my wife drives an 2004 325i and I have a 1991 M5. The M5 is a work in progress and I don't daily drive it, that duty was saved for a 2007 335i. That has been a great car - stupid fast! I decided I wanted to shake things up a bit and decided to pursue the 4x4 world -- which lead me to the Toyota world. I really wanted a Tacoma but decided it was too small. I LOVE the new 4Runner body style but I can't afford one right now. Then I moved on thinking about an older 4Runnner but older ones didn't have the rugged off road heritage of the Landcruiser. I have alsways loved with the FJ62 body but they are getting really hard to find in good condition and if you do find one, they are pretty expensive. I loved their charm and simplicity but ultimately I knew the FJ80 was a better option for me. Lockers and all the modern 90s car amenities just made so much sense. I knew I wanted a daily driver and finding an 80 in good condition was going to be way easier compared to finding a clean 62. An 80 was also going to save me a huge amount of time and money because, factory lockers!