87 hj60 frame swap with 89 fj62 frame help plz (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello out there!
I have a canadian 1987 hj60 with h55

Sadly frame has rusted beyond the point of no return.
Currently have a super nice treated 89 fj62 frame to swap under her and will be starting the project in the next few days. THIS IS MY FIRST TIME DOING FRAME SWAP SO PLEASE BEAR WITH ME

I have searched high and low and read almost everything i can out there on performing the swap but still have some areas of uncertainty... Sadly there isnt a sticky on how this can be done with photos to the T. So hopefully i can help the next guy!

#1 powersteering pump mounting- is there a way to make the original work? It seems that one is angled on the frame and the other is not. please post photos or site where i may find details or a conversion!

#2 frame side engine mounts- i know i need to cut off the mounts and move them over and i have seen alot of different ways of doing it but having a hard time finding the exact dimensions of them. I know the factory frame that i am pulling will have these dimensions but would appreciate having them so i can make my marks for the new one before pulling it apart. I reallllllllllly dont want to screw this up !!!!!

Im sure there will be a #3-??? as this begins but anyones help is appreciated!

Also any recomendations (from anyone that has attempted this already) for parts that i can expect to break...so i can buy in advance :)

Don't try to do this in your driveway unless you have the time and a good insurance (personal and public liability).
I was contemplating a driveway swap but elected to do it in a garage with a 2 post lift. It was easy and safe this way.
Well worth it. Took 6 days of wrenching. Body came off easy and fast (first day).
Lowered it onto dollies and moved it to the side to get it out of the way.