Making Rear Quarters: If a fabricator can do it, how hard can it be? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Making Rear Quarters: How Hard Can it Be? A 9/76 Sweat Equity Resto

I'm in serious need of some new quarter panels. Mine were badly molested by the PO with a jigsaw, they have serious creases in both corners from being backed into things, and they have rust-throughs where the wheel wells are spot-welded on. I have a nearly new complete rear sill from CCOT, a great set of used wheel wells, a decent rear floor, and my top rails are sound. So, as soon as I have quarter panels I'm ready to begin rebuilding my 1/2 tub.

My question is, I'm pretty ambitious but I have very little fabrication experience (read: none), would it be crazy to try fabricating my own rear quarters from 18 gauge steel (9/76 production date)? The ones from CCOT only cost about $330 shipped, but that's almost a year's worth of preschool :rolleyes: and it would need to be a necessity.

Has anyone had any luck making their own, complete quarters that look stock?

Here's a pic of mine:
Quarters.jpg

Last edited:
Many of us have gone that rout...had a friend fab some up for me rolled the radius at a local shop...used 3/16" steel...no more rust thru's or bends from bashing into stuff :)

if anybody is in the VT area he can do yours too :) ( Poor Wally's Land Cruiser Emporium )

There's another guy...I think its 'Bud Built' ? that also sells 3/16" rolled steel

they look very stock

attachment.php

I made both of mine along with new wheel wells and floors
drivers qp removed.jpg
Drivers qp replaced.jpg

If your time is worth anything to you, it will be way cheaper to buy some aftermarket panels. Aftermarket panels will also probably be of way better quality than what a beginner can produce in his garage with limited tooling.