Smog Questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey There,

I'm pretty new to this world so forgive me for my ignorance. I'm in the final stages of purchasing an 1976 FJ 40. I live in California so I have to abide by the states emissions standards which makes me very worried. I've posted some pictures of the engine below. From what I understand it was a total frame off restoration. I know it doesn't have a cat converter because it was pre '78. The company I'm buying from says that it still has has air injection pump, and manifold system, with charcoal canister. Is there any hope that this thing would pass or is it 50/50?

Let me know your thoughts. Thank you in advance!

2350070-19-revo.jpg

2350070-19-revo.jpg

2350070-23-revo.jpg

2350070-21-revo.jpg

2350070-17-revo.jpg

Per CA DMV, the seller is responsible for the smog certificate prior to sale.

Don't buy it if it won't pass, period.

It can be a very long and expensive road to get it to pass and parts are mostly no longer available.

thanks pjohnson. The car is coming from Colorado. I doubt they would provide that certificate. A mechanic just looked at photos and said all stuff is there and it should be okay.

It looks like you're missing the carb stud, grommet, and butterfly nut.
It's for the hole directly over the carb on the air cleaner assembly.

I'm in CA and have a Feb. '76 FJ40. I always get a pre-test to see what the numbers look like long before my smog and registration is due. A passing smog certificate is good for 90 days, so I get my rig tested as early as possible just in case I have a problem.

Colorado doesn't have emissions testing? Have the seller at least get the rig to pass there, before you buy it and bring it to CA.

Isn't that a vacuum transfer case module on the firewall?

Interesting brake master cylinder.