New Here and have a Question about Clutches and Slave Cylinders (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey yall,
I am going to start this off by saying I am not a mechanic and most of what I do know is based of looking stuff up on the internet to try and figure things out. I have a manual 91 toyota pickup with a 22re engine thats got a recurring problem: my stick keeps getting stuck while im driving to the point where I have to pull over turn the truck off and shift gears then turn it back on. it gets more frustrating because this happens only sometimes. I can be driving it when its doing that, then park the truck and come back later and it drives fine for a good while. The clutch pedal goes all the way in but the stick wont go into gear, particularly 1st 2nd and reverse (makes a horrible noise when I try to put it in reverse). I have taken it to a mechanic that Ive been going to for a couple years, and he put new slave cylinders on it and said to put brake fluid in it. Doing this didnt really fix the problem and the brake fluid doesnt seem to be leaking or running out fast so that seemed like kind of a pointless solution. I really dont want to ruin my clutch or my shifter (put a new clutch in within the past year), but when I drive it and all of a sudden it starts getting stuck I can feel it grinding around if I try to force it into gear. Id like to take it back to this mechanic guy but I don't want to go in blind and not having any idea what might be wrong. If anyone has ever had this happen or has any suggestions on resources/videos/ anything please let me know and I really really appreciate it : )
-K

Could be in hydraulics or clutch assemble. Something is preventing the clutch from fully disengaging to allow synchros in tranny to match gears so they can shift smoothly. Will cause damage to tranny if not fixed.