Manual swap on an 80. Opinion on performance needed!!! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So no hope on getting an H151 in the US without unplugging the bank. So I'm left with three choices:
R151f (from 4runner or tacoma)
RA60f (from FJ Cruiser or newer tacoma)
NV3550 or AX15 ( Jeeps)

Let's assume that I have the bellhousing and transfercase adapter figured out (not yet but just put that aside for now) since I'm a machinist and my family has a CNC shop. I would love to hear your inputs on how each listed above perform. As of right now I intend to use the 80 for roadtrip mostly as i'm converting it into a two seat camper. But i would love to get into rock climbing in the future as I have more to invest in lift kit and such. So I aiming toward having a quite robust and reliable transmission first.

I can get the R151f for quite cheap ~$300 easy but I'm afraid it may not be strong enough for more serious offroad applications.

I may be able to get the RA60f for ~$700 (less if lucky). Also, I knew about the throwout bearing problem on the RA60 and I think I know how to permanently fix it since I would have to make the bellhousing anyway.

NV3550 or AX15 I knew nothing about but seems to be quite cheap to get as well, around what I would have paid for the R151f.

Already ruled out the NV4500 since it's way overkill.

Anyways fire away. Thanks in advance!!!

the whole problem with a manual trans has nothing to do with the trans and everything to do with the computer. a stand alone is required and when added to the cost of the swap everyone ends up going another route. for the cost of putting the 5 speed behind the 1FZ you can damn near swap in a diesel or LS with 5 speed and be better off.