Gearing options vs rubber overdrive (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Reaching out to the community for information, guidance, and advice.

So here's the back ground of where I am now and what I would like to do possibly:
Start point 1974 FJ40 F.5 J30, 4.11 diff, 31.10.5R15 tires
- Upsized tires to 235/85R16
- Replaced J30 with 81 FJ60 H42/34MM split transfer case
- Mark A carb, seems to run on the rich side by the smell but it is a great improvement over the stock Chinese carbs or a Weber. Plus the secondary circuit is very noticeable, big difference on how the truck runs
- Dobinsons 2" lift, 2 degree caster shim

My COVID project is now mostly done (if there is such a thing), I now drive it to work when time permits and plan to eventually use on mild trails. This is my first build and don't really have a point of reference on what is considered sound or right. It does get loud above 2.5k rpm, I have sound deadening in the hard top cap and raptor lined floors that has made it easier to converse at a mild yell level. I will be pulling the headers and adding a 3FE exhaust manifold with a new exhaust over the winter. I dont want to add any more sound deadening stuff, its a rolling tin can shaped in the form of a brick and I know this. I am more focused on fine tuning the drive line.

Overall the truck runs great, just seems like its running hard to go above 55. It will do 70 with a good run up without an issue but over 3k rpms seems like I am pushing it hard. Its right about 3k at 65 now. I drove diesel trucks for most of my life and I am more accustomed to the lower rpm band. Here are the ideas I have running through my head: