| From new to old | A slow LX470 build thread (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello mudders,

Just gonna start with a little background. Been a Toyota guy for some years now. I work as a parts guy at a Toyota dealership, and generally just love Toyota 4wd’s. I’ve owned 2 other 4wd Toyotas including a ‘94 LC80, an ‘07 FJC, and those are what made me want to stick with Toyota 4wd’s. Last October I ordered a new TRD Off-road Tacoma 6MT in lunar rock. It was so special because it was my first new vehicle and I enjoyed it until this June when a large doe ran out in from of me when I was running 70 mph and ultimately ended up totaling it.

After struggling with insurance for 2 months, they finally paid me, and I took my positive equity to purchase this! It’s a 2000 LX470 with right at 282k on the clock. It’s had a good bit of important maintenance done recently (t-belt, water pump, alternator, etc) and it also looks to have a fresh brake booster/master cyl on there but with no paperwork to confirm. No rust to speak of, the underside is very clean, it’s been southern its whole life here in Tennessee. It needs tires, an output shaft seal is seeping fluid, axles have been or currently are slinging grease, and some misc small parts on the interior. It’s been well taken care of overall, I looked at another 100 a few days ago and it was rolling around still totaled basically. The very worse condition 100 I’ve ever seen in person, but anyway.

So the point of this thread is to show my progress (no matter how slow) on the ol 100. Documenting what’s went right, what’s went wrong, and what my thought process was behind the choices I made. Pictures will come soon, including plans and ideas I have. Hope you enjoy!

IMG_6288.jpeg

So I’ll give you all a little overview of what I’ll plan to do to the truck, and how I’ll be using it.