Cummins 5.0L V8 - Thoughts from the diesel swap gurus (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey all,

I'm new to mud, and my '87 FJ60 that I bought back in May '16. I've only put about 2k miles on since I trailered it back from Bend, OR to Burlington, WA and have only done the basic "new owner" fixes (fluids, leaks, etc) since the purchase.

That being said, I've got big dreams for this guy and let's face it ... it's free to dream. I've been leaning (heavily) toward a diesel swap, but I've been trying to nail down exactly which one (no hurry here! $$$$). While Toyota's options are very enticing for many reasons (simplicity, staying true to TEQ), lately I've been leaning towards Cummins for ease of maintenance (finding parts!) and sourcing an engine. However, the 4-bt is very loud imho and the better balanced 6-bt, though I've seen a few videos with them in FJs, is too heavy and is just plain overkill (<- again ... my opinion).

THAT being said, has anyone had any experience with the Cummins 5.0L V8 that they're putting in the new Nissan Titans? I heard about them a while back and added it to the list of swap possibilities, but now that they've been on the market, I thought I'd start this conversation to see what the guys who know what they're talking about are saying.

I know sourcing one right now will be more difficult than say 4-bt, but by the time I'm ready to pull the trigger on a swap (LONG way off), I figure there will be more than a few Titans in the scrap yard. How would you guys (and girls!) rate this in swap-ability? I really like how light it is, while still retaining "the numbers." It also seems like they put a fair amount of design into keeping the engine quiet, which I like.