Buying Diesel 6x series for DD? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.handselreid.com
I read through the sticky thread about diesel conversion options before starting this and I think this could be a good new addition to the topic. If not, my bad, delete or move. I'm a forum newb.

I have been researching the different ways to own a Diesel 60 series for my DD for a few months now. The question I am stuck asking myself is whether to find an import (HJ61 or BJ60) with low miles or go with a domestic FJ60 that someone has already done the swap on. I guess my major reason for this comparison is cost of ownership. With the imports becoming more common due to the 25 year import laws it would seem parts are becoming less of a PITA for the foreign diesel models, but of course I could be wrong I am no expert in these matters when it comes to first hand knowledge. Also, I live in Portland, OR and it seems like this is a easier place than most to find good mechanics / parts.

Here are some listings of diesel 60 series for sale right now that I am interested in...

LAND CRUISER DIESEL 1HD-T , 1985,

Toyota: Land Cruiser BJ60 FJ60

Toyota: Land Cruiser HJ61

And incase this thread goes on beyond the life of these links the basic info on thes vehicles are:

1.) FJ60 with 1HD-T swap. $20,000 (seems pricey but I know that engine alone is expensive)
2.) BJ60 with pretty low miles and mostly rust free. $13,500
3.) HJ61 RHD with low miles, some small visible body rust spots. $12,500

So, this seems to be the range of options I keep coming across in my search.
What do you guys think is the way to go for a Daily driver / weekend camper / trips to the mountain in winter vehicle?
Hopefully the actual owners of these listings are members here and can chime in on additional info for the vehicles?