Another One!... 1994 FZJ80 LS/4L60E Swap (Budget, Hopefully) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Another build thread for an LS Swap. I'll be posting the budget and parts spreadsheet when all is said and done. The haters say it can't be done for less than $5k. I say bring it on!

Starting vehicle is a 1994 FZJ80 I bought back in May 2018. Here is the previous owner's build thread for those curious: Builds - My first Land Cruiser (Now official overland/camping build thread) - https://forum.ih8mud.com/threads/my-first-land-cruiser-now-official-overland-camping-build-thread.954730/

This is my first build thread on MUD so be gentle haha. This is just for the engine swap and won't detail everything else I've done to the truck. I may make another thread for that at some point.

It all started a few weeks ago, found out I have a blown head gasket (cyl. 5 and 6, 53 psi), plus the AC is on its way out, and the trans is starting to slip a little. at close to 300k, Mr. Toyota says its time. I will be selling the 1FZ and trans in a few months, so DM me if you're interested. I just don't want to put the money into a motor that is only making 212 hp, and since I live in FL, a highway drive is needed for any fun trips, and this trans is not not really the most fun trying to keep up with traffic on the interstate.

I had a solid find, a 2002 GMC Yukon XL Denali 1500 for $700. AWD transmission, so wrong spud shaft for this project, but the motor (LQ4, 6.0L) is making 40psi oil pressure at idle, easy start up with 300k on the odometer. Drove the truck around, loaded it on the trailer, brought it home. Plan right now is to scrap the truck body, sell the trans and transfer case. Trading the rear end to my dad for a 4L60E he pulled out of a 2wd suburban that became the donor 6.0 LS for his 4WD C10 project.

Got the oil pan needed to clear the front driveshaft off of amazon for $206.00.