The "Official" 1HZ/1HD-T/1HD-FT Airbox/Intake Mod Thread

Discussion in 'Diesel Tech / 24 volts' started by ForealBoreal, Apr 27, 2013.

  1. mudgudgeon

    mudgudgeon

    Messages:
    3,014
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Posted in your rig thread in the 80section.
    Do some investigating before you keep driving. Something is not right.
    I've had badly blocked filters cause a loss of power, but not white smoke
     
    TuffMudder likes this.
  2. Lumpskie

    Lumpskie

    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    962
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    New England, USA
    I emailed Tor last week. No response. For now, I'm just running the stock box at 18 psi.
     
    TuffMudder likes this.
  3. Bisonthecruiser

    Bisonthecruiser

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, Californ
    Any reason the cappable inlet won't be 4"?
     
    TuffMudder likes this.
  4. franklin40

    franklin40 SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    9.5 inches by 13 inches by 8.5 inches tall will be the final dimensions. the duramax filter is 9.5 x 12 itself. it should fit. my only worry is height. i might need to shorten it if my hood doesn’t clear
     
  5. franklin40

    franklin40 SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    only reason is that the out let will be 3 inches to match my tube diameter to the turbo. once i have 2 x 3 inch hole sucking in air the air flow volume will be more than enough id think. i have the 3 inch pipe so it’s really a matter of cost in materials vs what i need. do you think the extra inch would really add much?
     
  6. TuffMudder

    TuffMudder Still working on my FJ55!

    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Fort Smith, AR
    I'm pretty sure there is a comment from 2017 in this thread from @torfab that they tried 4" inlet with 3" outlet and it still created a vaccum, but 4 and 4 did not. a comment i wish i'd remember before having my box made.
     
    Bisonthecruiser likes this.
  7. TuffMudder

    TuffMudder Still working on my FJ55!

    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Fort Smith, AR
    Heres that comment from Oct of last year

     
  8. Bisonthecruiser

    Bisonthecruiser

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, Californ
    This. Everything I've read is that this engine wants as much air as it can get. Moonlight recommends a 4" snorkel with a 4" box.
     
  9. TuffMudder

    TuffMudder Still working on my FJ55!

    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Fort Smith, AR
    Yeah, i think i latched on to thebigboys comments that this wasn't true and completely overlooked the more recent comments from torfab, and i think i may be reaping the results of that now
     
  10. TuffMudder

    TuffMudder Still working on my FJ55!

    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Fort Smith, AR
    So i'm curious, Theres been a lot of interest in getting one of these in the US to avoid the shipping and have a better price point, but despite all of the conversation, i still don't see one available.

    I'm committed to getting this air box worked out come hell or high water. If i do, would any else be interested in buying them. I'm working out the issues in mild steel and if it works right, i have a friend who could make it in stainless (or mild steel) for anyone interested, and I think it would be at a reasonable price point. Wont know until he prices stainless and gives me a quote.
     
    FJRanger likes this.
  11. Bisonthecruiser

    Bisonthecruiser

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, Californ
    Yeah, I'd be in 100%. I'd put a deposit down in the right circumstances. I'd also love it if someone would fab a 4" snorkel so I can just get this over with. If I had the skills, I'd be all over this. I just can stomach $1800 all in to get this to me stateside.
     
    FJRanger likes this.
  12. IanB

    IanB SILVER Star

    Messages:
    3,892
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    Ya, that's IC money, for just an airbox.
     
  13. franklin40

    franklin40 SILVER Star

    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    ive read all that. i figured as i’m not running a big turbo and haven t boosted it too much a 3 inch would be ok. maybe i’ll get a 4 inch pipe and make sure i do it the best i can. ill have to figure out a reducer to my turbo then. i guess it make sense as resistance to any fluid/gas flow is a function of diameter and length of pipe. the longer it stays at 4 inches the less resistance there will be
     
  14. TuffMudder

    TuffMudder Still working on my FJ55!

    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Fort Smith, AR
    Last edited: May 16, 2018
  15. TuffMudder

    TuffMudder Still working on my FJ55!

    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Fort Smith, AR
    If there is enough interest, That could be included as well, but ultimately it will depend on the level of interest
     
    Bisonthecruiser likes this.
  16. mudgudgeon

    mudgudgeon

    Messages:
    3,014
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I think this idea needs some context.

    You can upgrade power a lot with the stock air box with no problem.

    If you have aftermarket, high flow turbo's and running at high PSI, then yes you will find the limitations of the OEM intake.

    With a stock turbo, there's loads of low hanging fruit to grab if your chasing more power before the effort and dollars for a custom airbox is warranted.
     
    Bisonthecruiser and IanB like this.
  17. Bisonthecruiser

    Bisonthecruiser

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, Californ
    Cheers. I saw posting under the assumption that you're pushing 20psi and are pretty far from stock tuning. I'm sure the factory box is great if you're running a close to stock setup.
     
  18. mudgudgeon

    mudgudgeon

    Messages:
    3,014
    Likes Received:
    1,826
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yep, a simple comparison is the 1HD-T to 1HD-FTE, very similar air box, 1HD-FTE in stock form produces quite a bit more power that the 1HD-T, mostly due to improvements in turbo design, and higher flow from the turbo. You can make decent increases in power with a 1HD-FTE too before airbox is a problem.
     
  19. TuffMudder

    TuffMudder Still working on my FJ55!

    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    188
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Fort Smith, AR
    my goal hasn't been to increase power. I'm wanting to increase airflow to lower egts and I was under the impression that this would help accomplish that
     
  20. slosh

    slosh

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.