Lifting a gx470 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi guys,

I'm looking to build a lifted gx 470. I'd like to go as big as I can ( obviously ) both on the lift and the tires. Id also like to run at least a 9 inch wide wheel with minor tire poke.

However, I will be daily driving this thing so the lift that I get needs to be able to take punishment all weekend and then still get me to work. This truck will not be for jumping but I do plan on adding power down the road and I'd like to be able to cruise down fire roads quickly. it will be more of a desert adventure vehicle than a true rock crawler. I'm planning to add sliders with the lift and then add offroad bumpers later starting with the rear. I

I'm also planning on doing a RTT so my suspension will need to support a good amount of weight.

I really appreciate any and all advice including "dont buy a gx 470 for that" I'm new to offroading but not to wrenching... ive been modding a '13 focus ST for a while

Anyways thanks,
CW

For the type of wheeling you are explaining you don’t need to lift it as high as possible and do not need the largest wheels possible. That is just over kill and a waste of money. I high quality lower lift would be a better decision in my opinion.

Basically just contact Metal Tech and order the top of the line ICON suspension they offer for the GX and then fit the wheels and tires to that lift.

You will either need to carry a spare inside or get a rear bumper with a tire swing if you plan on running large tires because it won’t fit under the truck otherwise.

Since you are new to off-road I would learn your vehicle first and get on those fire-roads even stock as soon as you get it and start learning how to drive it.