KZJ78 Battery Replacement (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

FJ40 that green thing

1996 KZJ78 Prado
Threads
Im new to the 70's if this has been discussed at length before I apologize. When I took posession of my 96 Prado the battery in it was an undersized group 34 Autozone special. It works but was loose and too small in the battery tray and didn't leave me any confidence adding accessories like ARB Intensity LED lights and a winch, fridge, etc. it would perform good enough.

I read somewhere the group 27 is the correct size but I took measurements of the battery tray and the battery cover and was unable to get anything that was an accurate fit in the lead acid group 27 batteries at my local auto parts stores. Many have plastic extrusions that would not allow proper fitment even though the main body of the battery was good. I have always heard Odyssey batteries are high quality so I found their group 27 had the right dimensions and got one shipped to my door in just a few days. I got this thing fitted tonight and it fits like a glove. Feels like I am taking full advantage of the OEM battery tray space and I am happier with the CCA and Amp hours so I hope to get many years of good use. I am posting here to help anyone out that is questioning the same. I have heard the toyota charging system doesn't put out enough volts to top these off fully, any thoughts or experience on that?

Does anyone have any info on a dual battery setup or spare tray they want to get rid of? I tracked down the part numbers for the OEM second tray and they all seem to be discontinued and NLA.

20211229_203022.jpg

20211229_203454.jpg

20211229_204702.jpg

Last edited:
@OGBeno Can you steer me to where I could find those parts? I've seen the 2nd battery back near the fire wall by the fuel filter on other vehicles. I don't know why mine wasn't equipped with one or maybe it was and has been removed. Thanks