Builds BJ42 To UZJ42 Build thread, V8 Engine swap, 1UZ-FE, A343F, HF1A, Electronics, etc. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi All,

Short introduction to the 40- & 55-Series Tech:

I’m Yves from the Netherlands, I’m an electronic engineer and am an electronic engineer with my own company. As most on here I love Land Cruisers and am the owner of a Land Cruiser HDJ100 with the 1HD-FTE 4.2L turbo engine. I use it as daily driver, offroad and travel/camping with a roof top tent. No campsites, only in the wild.

There’s not a lot of off road in the Netherlands, but me and my friends manage and visit offroad days and other countries. Somehow I’m always the first one through deep water and to rip his bumpers off.

I’ve always liked the older Land Cruisers, the 40 series, the 40 series pickup and the 60 series, or well, actually all of them. Recently I came across a cheap, very nice, rust free BJ42 from 1984, I bought it with a broken 3B engine, it’s seized, perfect time to swap.

The car is in good condition, I’d like to keep it just a little bit original. I’m thinking small lift, 32/33” mud tires, NOT cutting rear fenders, rollbar, original or 4 Plus style bumper and a nice soft ride. Oh, and a big engine made by Toyota.

For tax reasons I want to swap in a petrol engine. I like diesel but the road tax for a diesel is about €1800 euro and for petrol only €125 per year. There’s a bit more to this than only the fuel difference, but I won’t go into detail.