For Sale 1979 FJ40 ADVISE (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

I'm new to MUD and the FJ world. Looking for a FJ40 that is in good shape, but needs some restorations as a project for me and my son. I happen to find this 79' FJ40 w 90k miles with mostly original parts. Runs well. Some rust, a few paint issues (but is original), radio doesn't work, a few small things. Owner has not posted it yet, but wants $23,000.

The prices of these vary wildly from what I can find. Basically, could anyone give some advise to a noob with pricing? I'm happy to pay fair market, which seems to be closer to $20,000.

Any thoughts?

IMG_9671.jpg
IMG_9673.jpg
IMG_9669 2.jpg
IMG_9659.jpg

IMG_9668.jpg

So maybe, Welcome to the madness !, Don't buy one !, You can still go back !

It seems to be a nice truck, but it has too much few "small" things that could easely double your purchase if you want to do it the right way.

A knowledgable local inspection would be of great help to you.

:cheers:

Hard to tell from the pictures, it the paint is original and there is no other rust than pictured runs okay, frame is solid, I would say it is a solid deal!

I would look closely at the rear corners and still, those are some of the worse spots on that era 40's but still not the end of the world. If it is a repaint and there is significantt bubbling, it is hard to say what is lurking beneath! IF uncertain of condition, bring someone along that is a little more familiar!

Good luck, Sounds like a fun project!

I personally wouldn't pay $20k for it, but I'm a curmudgeon who remembers the days when that was a $5k truck with wiggle room.