My Old 8274 Rebuild (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

gcrump01

SILVER Star
Threads
I'm going to need some guidance on this rebuild, so I'm going to post a lot of pictures along the way.

Here are a few the way it came in.

B4 - Top half 4.JPG
B4 - Top half 6.JPG
B4 - Bottom & Drum.JPG
B4 - Bottom Gears.JPG
B4 - Brake 2.JPG

Please make any comments or suggestions - I'm new at this so things that are obvious to you experts might not be so obvious to me.

I managed to get the brake off with a puller, at least part of it. This is where I'm stuck.

Any Suggestions??

Brake Disassembly.JPG

Ok, got it. 3 jaw puller. Hit with hammer 3 times, tighten, repeat, repeat, etc.

Question - lock plate is obviously out. How do I remove the shaft that the brake was on? Saw a video where I guy just popped it out with a screwdriver. I don't see that happening with mine. Can I drive it out from the back side? 2nd pic below???

Brake removed.JPG
Brake shaft 2.JPG

As I recall, the only thing holding that shaft in (with the lock plate removed) is the seal that you see from the outside. If there is any play in the shaft, I believe you can just bump the seal out by pushing the shaft in and then quickly tugging on it against that seal (and repeat a few times). You'll realize what's going on as soon as that seal starts to move.

I assume you're going to replace the seal, so you could also just remove the seal destructively. Just be careful not to damage anything but the seal. It's a pretty narrow seal.

There is probably a way to rig a puller on the end of that shaft, or pry from the inside, but I tend to shy away from putting pressure on a cast aluminum case. These cases are pretty thin.

Last edited: