New To FJ62s (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I just bought my first Land Cruiser, an all stock 1989 FJ62 (170k miles) with the hopes of using it as a learning experience. I am a novice when it comes to 4x4's and basically working on cars in general, however I have been doing a ton of research.

I plan to take this rig on overland camping trips every now and then. So I wanted to get more detail about upgrades and the order in which to do them. (I tried looking at existing threads but they were to specific to the posters vehicle)

Here is a list of the major things I plan to do, with some detailed questions. Let me know if I should be doing these things in a different order!

1.General Service Inspection
Should this be done at a Land Cruiser specific garage? Or will any shop do?

2.OME Suspension Lift
How do you choose the appropriate amount of lift? Was thinking 2" but not sure?

3. New Tires & Wheels
Was thinking 32s because 33s seem a bit too large.

4. Re-Gearing??
Ive heard you must do this after a lift and tire install...but I don't really know what it involves?

5. Diff Lockers
Are both front and rear recommended? Or is just rear acceptable? When should this be done?

6.Water Proofing
I live in Portland OR, so I want to protect this rig from rain/rust as much as possible. Are there any good products out there? Luckily I have a garage.

Any other must do upgrades? Thanks!

1) I would take it to Toyota of Gladstone (near you) and pay for a used vehicle safety inspection. Peace of mind for you.

2,3,4&5) get yourself a mild lift and tires and wheels that fit it. 32-33" (or metric equivalent) are a nice size and should not require new, lower gearing for the majority of driving.

Toyota built a pretty good rig and unless you're headed where you need extreme traction, I'd probably wait on those lockers.