HJ60/61 Advice (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey forum.
So, my VW Manual Diesel wagon has to be sold back to VW because of the scandal, I've been looking for another manual, diesel, anything with some space. In North American, really there isn't much but through my search, I've really stoked on getting a Land Cruiser! I've got a couple 60 series I've found that I'm checking out, and will have some money to dump into it, but I just wanted to ask:

What would be the best engine to swap to for the best power/mileage? Apparently Cummins will be releasing a Turbo Four?

Any advice would be amazing. Thanks!

I have zero experience with diesel land cruisers. That being said, I've heard about the 2.8 Cummins 4 cyl. that's supposedly coming out as a crate package. It will be a while before someone actually tests it out on a 60 series and probably even longer before legit parts are available from vendors to aid in the swap. There are some build threads with people using the 4BT and I think even the 6BT if you wanted to go that route, but your best bet is probably going to be a 12HT swap. You could get a HJ60/61 - most of them are RHD, so that will have to be OK with you. There are some good threads documenting a 12HT diesel swap into FJ60's. @CenTXFJ60 is very familiar with this swap and could be a great resource for getting questions answered.

So, I have a '14 manual diesel jetta wagon as well. Why "has" it got to be sold back to VW? They will offer to "fix" the car AND give you money....or pay you to return it to them. I see your are in Canada....maybe that makes a difference?

I'm in the process of putting a 1HDT into my 62 series.

In no way would I want the 62 to be my daily driver. Coming out of a VW diesel wagon you are going to be very disappointed with the fuel economy.