Hello, new amigos! First post and first question! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Good evening fine folks at Ih8mud! I'm new to the offroad and LC scene, after being introduced to the joys of offroading last summer.
20170212_080303.jpg
I knew this hobby was my next one.

Fast forward 8 months and I'm the proud new owner of a 1991 beige/cedarwood FJ80. 270k miles and a bit of rust, but she is a beauty. I hit the ground running with undercarraige rust treatment/prevention. I'm in the process of making her offroad safe: I've added a slee short bus bumper, and I have Cruisin Offroad skids, sliders and OME 2.5" lift awaiting install. Trying to find time between my other hobby (see my avatar)

I have been getting acquainted with this site for the past few weeks and I can tell that this is a group of passionate and knowledgeable folks who are ready to help!

That being said...

I have run into something that I haven't found yet on the forum. The PO (new to forums so still geeking out on the use of acronyms) completely bypassed the o2 sensors. Literally, one is sitting on top of the pipe forward of the catalytic converters, and the other is just missing. He welded straight pipe through this area. However, I have no CEL, and no problems with the engine running or starting. I'm concerned about gas mileage, surprise! But also questioning how my rig runs well without the input from the o2. I have checked all fuses in the cabin and under the hood and everything checks out. CEL does not illuminate on the ON posiston either. I'm wondering if the circuit is bad or something else is going on with that, but that still doesn't answer the question of why no functional indication of missing sensors. I'm hoping that someone can point me in the right direction.