FJ80 n00b tackling front axle rebuild (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi Folks,

I'm a fairly experienced DIY mechanic getting ready to do a front axle rebuild on a friend's '92 FJ80. Never worked on an FJ or any other solid-axle 4x4. Now, my friend is the sort who does not consider maintaining his vehicle until it needs a repair, so the back plates on both sides are thoroughly coated with soup/grime--there's no telling how long since the inner axle seals failed. I'm planning on at least doing the knuckle rebuild + brakes/rotors/bearings. The birfields are not making noise, so I'll probably keep those. Should I be thinking about a diff rebuild as well? Any other considerations I should be thinking about?

Thanks!

John

No. Odds are the diff is OK. Do axles out.

See how much oil drains from the diff. You may only get a spoonful if the axlensealnleak is that bad and your buddy doesn't maintIn his cars.

Follow up, if I still have your attention: Can you give me an idea what quantities I will need of
-general purpose (wheel bearing) grease
-moly grease
-gear oil

Wheel bearing grease: 1lb tub
Moly: buy 4 of the 14oz tubes
Gear oil: 4qts

You will have a bit leftover on each.

when you do the axles get new axle nuts and lock tabs. whoever owned my truck before me was a butcher and air hammered the axle nuts off, you don't need to do that. youll need 4 nuts, 2 lock tabs

Check out the FAQ on front axle rebuild for some nice how to. Figure a couple of rolls of paper towel. Consider swapping the birfs (cv joints in other worlds). Cruiser Outfitters for a quality, comprehensive rebuild kit. Sound like you know your stuff mechanically so it will be a really greasy, messy piece of cake project for you.

I got the kit, it took me 2.5 days to do a single side but I also am terrible and it was my largest mechanical job ever.