Cone Washer Frustrations... (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

mingles

GOLD Star
Threads
Such a simple sentence… (from the front hub section of FSM)

d) Using a brass bar and hammer, tap on the 6 bolt heads and remove the 6 cone washers, plate washers, and nuts.

Tap my A$$! 48 hours soaking in penetrant, tapping, vibrating, trying many of the tricks turned up in search, all were still frozen. I ended up double nutting the studs and removing the studs with an impact gun. Even with that, the cone washers are still frozen to the flange and still needed to be driven out. :bang:

I realize this is old hat to many of you but it is my first time.

Just had to vent… :)

Give @beno a shout and he can get you all new studs/cone washers and acorn nuts, just got a set myself.

Don't worry about it, just your time in the barrel, sometimes this crap just happens.

The truck itself is relatively rust free, this is not how things usually come off it.

I do have a full set of new studs/washers on hand so yes, it's just "time in the barrel".

I watched that video where they just fall out in the guys hand. Right...

I did not try heat though. I'll do that on the other side. Thanks!

Cool, keep us posted how that works. Heat them up then hammer with a drift. Just make sure you are not sitting in front when heating them - you don't want one of those washers to shoot out in your crotch, that would hurt. I always sit off-center because of that.

I watched that video where they just fall out in the guys hand. Right...

I did not try heat though. I'll do that on the other side. Thanks!

Just trying to help. I have removed 100's cone washers using the system never got my ass kick yet.

Just trying to help. I have removed 100's cone washers using the system never got my ass kick yet.
Thanks Phil. I appreciate your suggestion and read lots of references to the vibration method in old posts.