Beginner Looking for Some Advice About Driveshaft Damage (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all,
I bought an OEM rear driveshaft from a Toyota dealership online, shopped around for the cheapest price and they offered free shipping. Also ordered some of the installation nuts for it.

Well, I got the package yesterday, nuts weren't shipped, and the driveshaft was in one of those long skinny boxes with no real padding, just some plastic wrapped around the u-joints. It looks fine to my eyes, but I'm no expert on driveshafts. This is the first I'm ever replacing myself, to be honest. In my long slow quest to become a one banana mechanic, from my current status as what I would say is a "couple of blueberries" mechanic. How many blueberries makes a banana, you say? I suppose I'll find out one day.

Anyway, I've tried to attach some poor quality photos. I can take some better ones soon, I promise. The damage to my neophyte eyes looks superficial, minor dings on the joints and some scratches, but I'm wondering if those more experienced out there could help me in figuring out if there might be more serious issues resulting in a loss of balance?

Any help is appreciated!

IMG_20231116_115636_419.jpg
IMG_20231116_120811_916.jpg
IMG_20231116_120826_480.jpg
IMG_20231116_120901_236.jpg
IMG_20231116_120748_097.jpg

Grease it and swap it in, the water's fine. Reuse the nuts you have.

Awesome, glad to hear! It'll be a fun time rolling around under there trying to get the old prop shaft off. Thanks for the feedback!

I bought a Tom Woods Custom drive shaft for a truck in early summer. A work of art and shipped like the Mona Lisa….. Other than the indexing on the yoke …match the direction of the old one when you remove it to install that new one and the same position.

That new shaft has been apart and reassembled wrong. It needs to be fixed before installing it