75 FJ40 - Any red flags?? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys... Would appreciate your opinion on this 75 engine. Yay or Nay?

Thanks!

IMG_1252.JPG

IMG_1253.JPG

IMG_1254.JPG

IMG_1250.JPG

Could use a lot more info. You're going to want to know the compression numbers, total mileage, ever been rebuilt, etc...

Buying things on looks can get you into big trouble!!!

Could use a lot more info. You're going to want to know the compression numbers, total mileage, ever been rebuilt, etc...

Buying things on looks can get you into big trouble!!!
Thanks! He says the mileage says 65,000, but is pretty sure it rolled over. The 40 is a few states over from me so I haven't seen it in person yet. Don't know compression numbers or if it's been rebuilt.

The dash looks a little strange to the far left, and so does the passenger floorboard. I can't make out what it is. But I am new to the Cruiser world and am not sure what an authentic one should look like.

01515_31v3slUVIjR_600x450.jpg

as everyone else says, do the compression test ... I'm assuming the engine is in a 75? ... get the engine number off the left side of the block just above the starter and check it against the engine serial number data here or on Spector Off Road table ... that will give you an idea if its a 75 engine or something else ...

Thanks! He says the mileage says 65,000, but is pretty sure it rolled over. The 40 is a few states over from me so I haven't seen it in person yet. Don't know compression numbers or if it's been rebuilt.

The dash looks a little strange to the far left, and so does the passenger floorboard. I can't make out what it is. But I am new to the Cruiser world and am not sure what an authentic one should look like.